30 Day Blog Writing Challenge: Day 28

Day 28.  What is something / someone that you miss?

I miss my father who passed away from a massive brain bleed in 2004, the day after Christmas.

I was at his house the day after Christmas and he was telling me how much his legs hurt each time he went to stand up.  He gave me a Christmas present.  It was a navy blue corduroy feather filled throw.  It was so nice.  I asked him if he “over-did it” the day before and he did, he was installing a new t.v. in the basement.  I chalked it up to that (big mistake).  He stated he had a call into the E.R. to have his Dr. paged but nobody ever called him back.

After I left their house, I went shopping with my eldest son David for some after Christmas bargains, and when I got home my phone rang, it was my brother-in-law and he told me that my pops had had a stroke and was in the hospital.  We all rushed to his bedside.  It didn’t look good.  The whole entire room was FULL of his kids and their children.  He was surrounded by love.

I’m one of 12 kids so imagine the crowd around this much loved man’s bed.  At this time he had approx. 30 grandchildren all who loved and cherished him as much as his own children did.

My father had been in and out of the hospital in his late stages so I truly believed that he was going to be ok.  I thought for sure this was just another hiccup in his road to recovery.  I was wrong.

My dad lost his battle on Dec. 26th 2004 and has been sorely missed ever since.

There are so many things I miss about my father.  I miss his very being.  I miss his essence.  I miss the good man that he was.  I miss him welcoming us into his home every single time we visited.  I miss our small talk.  I miss his moral compass, his hard work ethic, the man that he was and what he stood for.  I miss his smile and his enthusiasm for life.  I miss his 4th of July parties that he threw with such zest and verve 🙂

I miss his kisses and hugs.  I miss him always being just a phone call away.  I miss his knowledge of life and all things.  He was a true carpenter, a fixer of all things, he could make something beautiful out of spare parts that he collected.  He wasn’t a carpenter by trade, but through having such a large family ~ really knew his way around his tool shop.  He was organized and knew where each and every tool was.   From building an addition onto a home, to building me a gate for the top of our basement stairs out of scrap wood so my kids wouldn’t fall down them.  I still have the gate up even though my kids are grown; I will never take it down.

I pray for him all the time and tell him how much I miss him but I sure wish I could tell him I love him one more time just so he knows.  I wish I had a chance to say “so long”.

Love and miss my dad all the time!

writingchallenge

a11111

5 thoughts on “30 Day Blog Writing Challenge: Day 28

  1. I am sorry for your loss. I also lost my dad in 2004. I miss him every day. The other night I was at my brother’s house for dinner, he was teasing his 4 year old son. My brother let out a laugh that was my just like how my dad used to laugh. I couldn’t believe how much he sounded like him. I think it is so awesome to see little bits of my dad in my brothers, niece, and nephews.

Leave a Reply

