30 Day Blog Writing Challenge: Day 20

Day 20.  How important do you think education is?

While I never received a college degree, I believe that a college experience can only be a positive.  I also believe you cannot force anyone to go to college.  My oldest has done extremely well in college and is continuing his education but my youngest son has no desire to go.  He has mad street smarts and is making excellent money in his current position without any college degree.  My daughter is out of H.S. but is currently serving our country and her college education will come later.

Here’s the thing, do I think it’s a necessity to get a college degree in this day and age?  No.  I think it’s up to the individual whether or not they want to pursue a higher education and I don’t judge someone based on their level of education.  I know several people with degrees that do absolutely nothing with them.  However, I do believe the college experience and the fact that “knowledge is power” goes a long way to making a person a better rounded individual.  It can’t hurt but I don’t necessarily believe that it is necessary for every individual.  Some people are not cut out for college.  Other excel, and for that I think it’s awesome.

That sounds like a “politically correct” answer but I have 3 kids and each is so different from the other.  I truly believe that having an education does not define a person – there are a lot of different factors that go into making the decision to go or not.  I am proud of all 3 of my kids regardless of what degree they hold.

I think every individual needs to march to the beat of their own drummer but I certainly would encourage anyone that wants to attend college to further their education.

writingchallenge

a11111

2 thoughts on “30 Day Blog Writing Challenge: Day 20

Leave a Reply

