Happiness, is it a choice?

I’ve been thinking about where I’ve been in my life and how far I’ve come.  I’m truly happy and I think it’s because I battled off old scars until they were dead and buried.

I still have my struggles of OCD, depression, anxiety, and PTSD but am on the right medicines that seem to be working well for me for the most part.  I’m happy.  I can genuinely say that I’m happy.  It was a long road to get here but I’ve shed the shame associated with events that led to my PTSD which has caused my depression and anxiety.  It’s rare for me to have a panic attack these days and my depression is manageable except when I have that time of the month.

So, I look at things on the sunny side these days.  I realize we are ALL VERY DIFFERENT, that I had to let go of the little things that were bothering me because they were zapping my good energy.  I have no concerns with what other people think of me; that’s none of my business.  I just be ME, be myself every single day and keep it real.  I am honest and truthful but I make sure when I put it out there not to hurt someone’s feelings.  I am not a fighter any longer.  I just smile and walk away.  It’s not worth my effort.  I know in my heart what is right and what is wrong; I don’t need to prove myself to anyone.  God knows the truth.  I don’t have to keep score, God is watching, listening, and living through me.  I can have someone stand in front of me and lie, or tell me something that I know is not correct but do not feel compelled to dot the i’s or cross the t’s.  I just know in my heart it’s all good.  I cannot change people, I can only change myself.

So, I do believe happiness is a choice.  It’s not what happens to you, it’s how you deal with what happens to you.  I thank my brother Tom for always being such an excellent role model to me.

I leave you with some happiness quotes, just because I can 🙂

quote1

I will not let the past dictate my future happiness.  It did for too long and many years were wasted, no more.

quotes2

It comes from deep within ~ only I can change myself, nobody else can.  So I choose to be happy.

quotes3

I’ve learned to let it just “be” – give things time to meld in your mind before reacting.  Funny thing, it always works out when you back away from a situation and think on it for a while first.

quotes4

I try to look around at all the things that went right today – they always far outweigh the things that went wrong – I can see beauty in a fallen leaf lying in the grass.

quotes5

I ALWAYS wish for good for others, it makes me happy in my heart to see others doing well and thriving. ♥

quotes6

Oh, this is an eye opener when you look at it from this perspective.  You can spend it any way you wish so why not spend it being happy and taking in all of life’s treasures since we can only spend it once?

quotes7

I’m so grateful for what I already have in this life.  My family is in good health and I love the life we’ve created.  I don’t need “things” to make me happy- I can be happy just knowing I can love and am loved.

quotes8

When you are happy you can find the beauty in just about anything.

quotes9

Time to look out for those open doors and let the closed ones remain just that – closed.

QUOTES10.jpg

Just as I cannot control others, others cannot control me.  My happiness depends upon myself.

quotes11

‘Aint that the truth?  Think of all the times in your life when you just felt happy but it wasn’t because of a physical thing, or gift, or anything tangible.  It was a FEELING of pure happiness due to a sunny day and a nice breeze, beauty in nature, or sitting in front of the beach?  There is so much more to life then meets the eye.

quotes12

I searched a long long time to discover who and what I am all about.  It was such a long and treacherous road but worth all the hard work I put into it.  I can proudly say that I am happy with what I found.  How I feel and where I’m going.  Only up from here 🙂

quotes13

I’ll keep them tucked in a jar – so when I’m down or feeling lost I can reach in and pull out a memory, a happy moment to remind myself of all that I have to be grateful for.

quotes14

It’s true.  Just be your beautiful self.  People are going to talk about you regardless of what you do or think, might as well just be myself.  If someone doesn’t like me, that says more about them than it does about me.  Not caring is key.  We go through this life not caring for someone elses personality also, so when someone doesn’t like mine, how can I complain?  Not everyone meshes.  That’s ok.  Just as long as I am true to myself.

quotes15

I love this quote.  It’s so sweet and true.  Unfortunately we cannot write someone elses happiness but we can be a shoulder to lean on and we can also remind them of what happiness and blessings they do have in their life and what makes them so special.

quotes16

So true.

quotes17

Things will come and things will go- they might even make you temporarily happy – but real happiness is spending time and connecting with the people that you love.

quotes18

I worked on it for so long I never knew it would ever kick in and work.  It finally clicked one day and I’m so glad I put forth all the effort.  It has paid off in ways that I cannot define.

quotes19

My mantra – love this quote

quotes20

And the memories you will build are irreplaceable.

quotes21

I’ll end it here.  This is our life.  Our decision on what to do with it.  Nobody else can decide for us.  So, I say- be happy at all costs.

Love,

annebella_siggie

One thought on “Happiness, is it a choice?

Leave a Reply

