Writing Challenge ~ Day 23: What if?

Day 23.  Something you always think “what if…” about

It was the day after Christmas in ’04 and I was visiting my parents with my eldest son David to exchange gifts.  My dad had been in poor health for quite a while, he even had his foot 1/2 amputated due to vein issues in his legs and battles with gout.  My dad was telling me that when he stood up, his legs were in severe pain.  I asked him if he “over-did” it yesterday?  He said yes, he was installing a new television in the basement the day before and that he probably had overdone it.

He stated he had a call into the emergency room (the same hospital where I worked) and I KNEW the E.R. wouldn’t give advice over the phone.  I KNEW THAT.  They do not have a nurse line and they cannot evaluate over the phone but I believed that my dad had just overdone it.  WHAT IF?  I had taken him more seriously?  What if I called his physician to ask for advice?  WHAT IF?  I had taken him to the emergency room instead?

We left, my mom went out to run errands and when she had come home there he was, collapsed in his chair where he passed away of a massive brain bleed.  It will haunt me for the rest of my life.  WHAT IF?  Just WHAT IF?

WRITINGPROMPTS

annebella_siggie

Leave a Reply

