Learning to Let Go

Last night I received a nasty text from my oldest sister.  Totally uncalled for and completely rude (for lack of a better word).  I could sit here and be upset but that would just be a waste of my precious energy.  I love old sayings because they are so true.  “Consider the source” and “With age comes wisdom” and so many more the like.

I couldn’t even be upset if I tried.  You see, my sister is just a sad case and I believe those that are down and out, mean and hurtful are those that need love the most.  I didn’t even respond to her text message because I believe she just wants the attention and for me to blow it up bigger than she already made it.  I won’t give her the satisfaction.

Truth is, she stuck her nose in where it didn’t belong.  That’s when those old sayings come in handy.  5 years ago I would have immediately reacted to her rudeness and cruelty.  But with age, comes wisdom (yassss, it’s true).  I can see now that reacting would be the worst possible scenario for me.  It would only serve to hurt her and make things worse.  Plus, I need to “consider the source”.   I wish I could say I was proud of my oldest sister but I am not.  So, why do I care what she thinks of me and what she has to say to me?  Truth is, I don’t and I’m glad I don’t.

Therefore, I will not respond.  My husband told me to text her back, “Fuck off” but you know what?  That would only hurt my mom the most, and I just don’t have the heart to do that.  She really had it coming, but I’ll hand this one over to God.

DEEPBREATH

annebella_siggie

Leave a Reply

