Writing/Blogging Challenge Day 26 ~ What popular notion do you think the world has most wrong?

What popular notion do you think the world has most wrong?

 

Right now I’ll be controversial and say that “Black Lives Matter” is the biggest notion that the world has most wrong.  I think “ALL Lives Matter” and that when you resist arrest or direction from law enforcement you run the risk of being shot and killed whether you are white, black, yellow, purple, or green.  Color doesn’t matter to me, it never has.  I’ve never been prejudice and I just feel like our government is trying to divide the people when instead, progress could be being made.  It’s extremely disappointing.

AND, I’m not writing this as a way to remove focus from the specific grievances of black Americans.  I just truly believe that all life is precious and matters.  See, Black Lives Matter is trying to highlight that there is demonstrable evidence that black lives matter less than white lives to the criminal justice system (and the American government as a whole).  So by me saying that “ALL lives matter” is supposedly a smack in their face.  I do not agree.  I am not a racist or take away from the fact that perhaps some African American folks have been killed unjustly or mistakenly.  Just the same as white lives, Hispanic lives, and Asian lives have been taken under rotten circumstances as well.  I think the officers need to be held accountable but I also believe that people that do not heed the warning of our law enforcement to do a certain task run the risk of being hurt justifiably.

You could not pay me to be a cop in this day and age.  What they must go through on a daily basis and being afraid of how their every move will be perceived.  Yes, we need to watch them and make sure they are doing right by the public but we also have to step back and applaud these brave men and women that put their lives at risk every single day to protect citizens’ of this country.

I’ll just go on to say that all lives do matter.  When a white person is shot or even accidentally shot by an officer, you don’t hear about it.  If I were a child with a fake gun, and a police officer cannot tell if it’s real or fake, and he/she instructs me to put my weapon down- I’d put it down to avoid the risk of being shot myself.

I am white, middle class and was recently pulled over.  I comfortably tucked my right hand under my left pant-leg and I cannot tell you how upset the officer was, telling me to “Put your hands where I can see them!  On the steering wheel” – he had to remind me numerous times.  I couldn’t believe it but it happens.  Who am I to argue?  Just learned that they need to see your hands at all times regardless of your ethnicity.  That putting your hands on the steering wheel at all times shows them that you respect them and their safety.  I cannot imagine how scary it would be to pull ANYONE over and not knowing what could happen or go wrong just from a simple traffic stop.  Again, you couldn’t pay me enough to be a police officer in this day and age and my hat goes off to the brave men and women who sacrifice their safety each and every day to protect us. God bless them and keep them safe. ALL LIVES MATTER if you ask me.

annebella_siggie

 

Here is the list I’m currently working off of if you care to join in on the writing challenge

blog-challenge4

Leave a Reply

