Writing/Blogging Challenge Day 9 ~ 10 people that have influenced me.

List 10 people who have influenced you and describe how.

  1. God.  My Lord Savior Jesus Christ.  I know through him all things are possible.  I am never alone; he’s always near.  When I’m scared, I offer it up to him.  When I’m thankful and have a grateful heart (everyday) I thank Him.  I am me because he loves me and has watched me evolve through the years for the better.  He always has my back.  I’m not perfect.  I am on one side and he is on the other- all he asks is that I try to be more like him and I do try.  I try everyday to have an open heart and an open door to my loved ones, my neighbors, and my co-workers.  It’s not always easy but He forgives me when I flubb up and is there to pick me up.
  2. My husband. Anything and everything that I am, every fiber of my being has been influenced for the better by this lovely man I am lucky enough to call my own.  I’ve known Scott for what seems like my lifetime and he has literally watched me grow up right before his eyes, largely in part to him.  I have gained my self-worth, my self-confidence, my self-esteem all from his love.  Just watching someone so self-assured of himself and such a pillar of sheer STRENGTH has motivated me and changed me for the better throughout our time together.  He has lifted me up from nothing and I’m proud to say that I have gained the world from this man.  He is my everything.  Nobody has had a bigger impact on my life than my husband, I’m so grateful for him.
  3. My Mom & Dad. By showing me good examples of hard work ethic and how to be a productive member of society.  By showing me how to be a silly, crazy, loving mom to my children and how to set a good example to them.  They always do the right thing and I learned a great set of values and morals from them.  I love that I was raised Catholic.  Today I’m a practicing Christian but I attribute my relationship with the Lord to my parents and their strong beliefs – they taught me well.
  4. I have a nice handful of people that I will not name that have influenced me for the better although they came into my life for just a season or a reason; not a lifetime. These are the people that showed me how I DO NOT WANT TO BE.  I’m grateful for the life lessons they taught me.  They also taught me how I deserve to be treated and without them I might be lacking in some self-confidence.  Now when I see these type’s of people in this world try to enter mine, a red flag goes up and I know to walk the other way.  Even though it was painful at the time, thank you for showing me how NOT to act in this life.  You made me better and stronger for it.
  5. My kids. I have 3 beautiful kids; all grown now but I am influenced by their bravery, their charm, their wit, their perseverance.  I’ve watched them grow into unique individuals who are each brave in their own special way.  I’m truly amazed at their confidence to step out and make things happen for themselves.  Things which would scare me, they go ahead and do- without hesitation and have made their own way in this big world and I couldn’t be more proud.  They make me laugh and see the funny side of things when I’m too serious.
  6. My Daughter-in-Law.  She has taught me patience and kindness.  She is beautiful inside and out.  She has determination, work-ethic, excellent morals, great intentions, is strong and independent, a PHENOMENAL wife and mother,  an excellent example of a woman and human being.  She doesn’t ever talk smack about others, she teaches her daughter love and kindness.  I’ve never met anyone like her, and I want to be just like her when I grow up- LOL.  I love you Asma and thank you so much for coming into my life like the angel that you are.  I don’t know where I’d be without your love and support all these years.  You are heaven sent and a gift that I will never take for granted.
  7. My lifelong best friend; Dawne. She has shown me how to be strong.  Strong in the face of adversity.  A stand up character in my life ~ so organized, on schedule, go-getting, jet-setting, loving, kind, gentle, funny, patient, did I mention organized?  I love this girl and am blessed to have known her now since kindergarten when we met.  Dawne has taught me that time stands still for no one and to keep moving forward even when the going gets tough.  To put on my big girl panties and remember that life can always be worse for someone else.  She looks on the bright side of things and trudges forward – all with a heart of pure gold and for this I am grateful to have her in my life.  I wish we spent more time together though.  As time has gone on, we’ve drifted apart a bit and that has been hard.
  8. My brother Tom.  When I was young, he taught me that I could talk to God any time I wanted to (no just in church for that hour).  He taught me kindness by giving me and my friends cash to go to the candy store just “because” he was so freaking awesome!  He taught me that when someone asks for a loan, when you give the money, do not expect it back – if you get it back, it’s just a bonus.  He taught me how to read music notes so I could play the cello and was always a great friend that I could talk to growing up.  He was a positive role model when I was a teenager and still a great example of a man to this day.  He’s definitely someone that I admire.  I love “me-brudda” so much!
  9. My close knit blog friends (the lemon gang) whom I have come to know and love over that past 8+ years.  To be loved unconditionally on that kind of a scale is a pure joy in my life.  There are 6 of us and each one is special in their own way.  I’ve never had such love and support so readily available and they are always there for me night/day.  I’ve learned so much through their love and care of each other and their wisdom knows no bounds.  What an incredible journey we have been on through friendship, trials, and tribulations but we always have each other’s backs.
  10. My longtime friend Laurie.  Even though we may have not spoken in a long while (due to busy lives, etc.) I will always hold a special place in my heart for a STRONG, beautiful woman that came into my life at a time where I needed a mentor.  And, boy- did I get lucky.  She taught me so much, not by bossing me around or telling me what to do, rather by setting an excellent example of a wife, a mother, a friend, and what felt like my very own sister.  She was patient with me as I struggled to learn “how to be” and I learned just by watching her.  She is smart, strong, independent, moral, loving, kind, generous beyond all get out.  She helped mold me into being a great Mama to my kids through her loving character.  I would not be where I am today if I had not met her.  They say God puts people in your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime.  She was a reason, there for the beautiful seasons, and will always be a lifetime.

annebella_siggie

 

Here’s the list I am working off of if you care to join in the fun:

blog-challenge4

7 thoughts on “Writing/Blogging Challenge Day 9 ~ 10 people that have influenced me.

    1. Yasssss indeed ~ very blessed to have good influences shape me growing up and even now. I only surround myself with excellent ppl- no drama, no B.S, no spontaneous” misunderstandings, none of that. I’ve even been hurt and disappointed but am grateful to those people for teaching me a “blesson”— a lesson about who I don’t want to be which is also a blessing ❤️. Life is good.

  1. A beautiful tribute and in just the right order- for me as well…my grown children influence me in ways I never expected- right behind God and my husband- and what would be without parents, friends – yes! friends! and blogging friends are in that wonderful group too! love y’all…

Leave a Reply

