31 Day Writing Challenge #3 ~Day 20: Discuss your favorite movie and why it’s so special to you.

Day 20: Discuss your favorite movie and why it’s so special to you.

This is a hard one for me because I’m more interested in comedy movies and my favorite is Bridesmaids *but* it’s not “special” to me.  So, I’ll try to think of a more meaningful movie.  I think I’ll have to go with “Steel Magnolia’s”.  The cast is incredible and it’s fun, sassy, and heartbreaking all at the same time.

It is a good past time to watch that never lets me down. As many times as I’ve seen this film (and it’s a lot), it never fails me; with tears, laughter and excellent acting and reality. Julia Roberts as Shelby, a special young woman who feels that having a baby is worth risking everything but the real gem and overlooked one in the movie is Sally Field. This is by far and away, her best role and performance she ever snagged, and nailed it.

Among the cast there are very few men, but my favorite is Tom Skerrit, who plays Sally Field’s husband, and father to Julia Robert. Shirley MaClain, Olympia Dukakis, and Dolly Parton are the other three co-stars, that follow behind the three previous, and all make their characters unique.

The basis of the film, is a beauty parlor, and although it might sound hokey, it’s really not. Some might call it a chick flick, but I have to say that I know men have even gotten teary-eyed from this film. It’s wonderfully directed, only in that, it makes you feel apart of the never ending friendship that’s between this group of women. The experiences that they have and the trials and tribulations they go through. Although not the whole movie is set in the hair salon, a good portion of the film is, but it is done in just the right amount, and is written very well.

One of my favorite lines from the movie is when character Clairee Belcher says, “Well, you know what they say: if you don’t have anything nice to say about anybody, come sit by me!”

2 thoughts on “31 Day Writing Challenge #3 ~Day 20: Discuss your favorite movie and why it’s so special to you.

Leave a Reply

