My Baby is Growing Up

Written by Kate

image

Today my son surprised me with news that I didn’t think I’d be hearing for another few years. Jake likes a girl, and he has already asked said girl to go see the new Captain America movie with him when it comes out in a few weeks. To say that I was stunned is an understatement!

Why am I so shocked you ask? After all my son is 16 years old, so it’s not as though I didn’t anticipate this eventually happening. It’s just that Jake hasn’t really showed a lot of interest in girls. Whenever I try to ask him questions about girls, he always says that he is too busy to date. Truth be told, he is a very busy kid. He’s taking 2 A.P. classes, an honors class, working towards achieving the rank of Eagle Scout, and he’s very involved in youth group at church.

So now here I sit stunned, scared, and hoping that the aforementioned girl doesn’t break my son’s heart. That has always been one of my biggest fears as far as my son is concerned. He’s extremely caring, loving, and giving. I would hate for some girl to take advantage of my sweet boy.

I’m forced to realize that my baby isn’t really a baby anymore. He doesn’t need me as much as he did years ago, and I hope that I’ve given him roots and allowed him to sprout his wings. I’m not ready for this, but I’m happy for him. I mean, it could be much worse – especially because he met the girl at church.

How do you prepare for your kids to date? If you have any advice, I would love to hear it. This momma is scared! Plus, now I feel old, and that’s just no fun for anyone.

5 thoughts on “My Baby is Growing Up

  1. We have seven kids, 3 who date often and our 14 yr old who thinks he’s 18, but we know better. With our sons I try to be realistic, as in honest, and blunt, because with our sons I’ve had to learn to take emotion out if it or it falls on def ears. This is what I tell them-
    No matter what you think, you don’t understand love enough to be serious with anybody, period. Use this time to make great friends that are girls. They don’t have to be friends forever but cherish it. Girls will always look for the boy who treats them kindly, and with respect. Lying and bravado will only hurt you in the long run. And don’t you dare put her in the position where she has to choose giving up her childhood to raise a baby you helped make or have an abortion. If I find out you got a girl pregnant, you’re getting your GED and working until you can afford that child’s needs and your own. Because your life will no longer be your own.
    That last part is because I was that 16 year old girl that got pregnant. It’s a tough go watching our sons mature, but it’s more comforting for be to know I haven’t kept them in the dark about how they’re choices now will affect them later. Ok…I’m done! 💜💜💜

    1. Thanks for the great advice! For as long as I can remember we’ve been talking to Jake about how to treat girls, how girls should treat him, what love really is, and of course sex. I like to think that my husband has been a great example to my son. It’s just scary when this time comes for Jake to actually date. I pray for him to make good decisions because one wrong decision could change his life.

  2. Comment by Annebella: I think it’s best to sit down and be brutally honest at this point. My kids never “dated” anyone in their teens (thank the Lawd) but if they showed signs, I would have had “the talk” – the big talk. The talk about taking it slow, being friends, taking time getting to know one another, etc. But, I also think it’s really important to have a talk about sex. AND, I’ll go even further to say a bigger talk about STD’s – and how “pulling out” without using a condom is NOT safe sex. I know this was all pretty blunt but if they cannot talk to you, who can they learn this from? Who can they talk to? Nobody and then things happen.

    1. Thanks for being honest with me! I really appreciate it. We’ve had the sex talk on an ongoing basis for years now. We have explained that pregnancy isn’t the worst thing that could happen. STDs are real, and that’s not something to mess around with. I try to be completely honest with Jake. I’m not going to lie to him, and if he asks questions I answer them truthfully. Like you always used to say, it’s better that he hears it from me than some kid on the back of the bus.

Leave a Reply

