Reason, Season, or Lifetime?

In reflecting on friendships I’ve had over the years- this poem below really says it all.  I just love the analogy ~ whoever wrote this is genius.  I’ve had people come in to my life for a reason; whether it was to help me out or to teach me how I do not want to be.  At times I’ve had to take a stand and know this person was toxic and they had to leave.  There were times when someone ditched me and it hurt at the time but it taught me a lesson; how I want and need to be treated in a relationship.  So even though it caused some pain- the lesson in the end was for the greater good.

friendship

I’ve had people come into my life for just a season.  It felt as though we were soul mate best friends but over time we drifted apart for one reason or another.  This person brought me lots of joy and taught me many things. These friends I cherish because they got to know the real me.  We shared a bond and connected on an awesome level.  They either moved on or we had to part ways due to it becoming unhealthy. Either way, major lessons learned to create a better version of myself.

Then there are my life-timers; the ones that stood the test of time.  The ones that never misunderstand me and know where my heart is at all times.  This person is easy going, and knows I would never do anything intentionally to hurt them, they know the REAL me.  They never question my motives nor do they even think I have “motives” because those “things” just don’t even fit into the equation.  Just great, down-to-earth besties that teach me how beautiful life is on a daily basis.  These are the positive keepers.  The ones that make me better just by knowing them.

So, when I have a friend, I usually know whether they are here for a reason, a season, or a lifetime.  I tend to cling to the life-timers.

Here’s the poem:

 

Reason, Season, or Lifetime

People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime.
When you figure out which one it is,
you will know what to do for each person.

When someone is in your life for a REASON,
it is usually to meet a need you have expressed.
They have come to assist you through a difficulty;
to provide you with guidance and support;
to aid you physically, emotionally or spiritually.
They may seem like a godsend, and they are.
They are there for the reason you need them to be.

Then, without any wrongdoing on your part or at an inconvenient time,
this person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end.
Sometimes they die. Sometimes they walk away.
Sometimes they act up and force you to take a stand.
What we must realize is that our need has been met, our desire fulfilled; their work is done.  The prayer you sent up has been answered and now it is time to move on.

Some people come into your life for a SEASON,
because your turn has come to share, grow or learn.
They bring you an experience of peace or make you laugh.
They may teach you something you have never done.
They usually give you an unbelievable amount of joy.
Believe it. It is real. But only for a season.

LIFETIME relationships teach you lifetime lessons;
things you must build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation.
Your job is to accept the lesson, love the person,
and put what you have learned to use in all other relationships and areas of your life.
It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant.

— Unknown

4 thoughts on “Reason, Season, or Lifetime?

Leave a Reply

