31 Day Writing Challenge #3 ~ Day 10: Something at which you’ve been a champion or the best…

Back in the day I was quite the little athlete.  Guess it was from being coordinated and playing in the streets like normal kids should.  I played everything from basketball to softball and everything in between.

One year, however – circa 1978 – my little sister Rosie, my niece Samantha, and I won GRAND CHAMPIONS at bowling that year.  Oh, the trophies.  I was only mildly saddened horrified when the man handing out the trophies said, “Here you go little boy” to me as he gave me my trophy ~ thanks to mom for the lovely bowl cut I was styling.

 

 

9 thoughts on “31 Day Writing Challenge #3 ~ Day 10: Something at which you’ve been a champion or the best…

  1. You too??? I’m so sorry! Lmao.
    Mama use to put tape over my bangs and a wooden bowl atop my head. But instead of cutting above it she cut below the tape and ripped it off adding insult to injury. I was constantly getting confused with my brother. She even called me by his name the entire time we were at Disneyland. Turd burglar.

    1. Omg, I can sooooo relate! TURD BURGLARS! My mom always use to say, “I gotta get that hair out of your neck” in the summer and then she’d butcher my hair. I despised being mistaken for a boy.

Leave a Reply

