31 Day Writing Challenge #3 ~ Day 1. Something I’m looking forward to this year.

I was in such a deep clinical depression and had severe anxiety (plus PTSD and OCD) for so long that I stopped gardening.  I’ve never been a “gardener” so to speak but I did try to make the outside of my house look nice.  I had hanging baskets and planted Pansies, Daffodils,  Peonies, Sunflowers, Tulips, Marigolds, Petunias, and Zinnias to name just a few.  Again, just a novice but my house looked pretty and it made me feel good.

My house has not had a single flower except for the Perennials that showed up every year and my yard was barren.  At one point I even had a tomato garden and made the BEST marinara sauce out of Roma tomatoes evahhhh!  That was a good year.  It was also the year that the sunflowers grew higher than my house.  Those were the days.  But having depression and anxiety for years I didn’t even want to get out of bed let alone plant a flower.

This year will be different and I’m soooooooooooo looking forward to a fresh new start.  I’ve been on-line searching for little yard ornaments and as an added bonus, I think my neighbors are really going to like the way my house looks.  Yes, it makes me feel good to bring  little sunshine into their lives. Their houses are decked out each year and I’m always so envious because I just didn’t have the energy or motivation.

I’m looking forward to digging in the dirt and planting.  To sunny summer days with a little breeze and myself, alone with my thoughts or maybe even listening to my favorite music.  I am actually looking forward to the cathartic chore of watering every morning when I get home from work.  I am looking forward to getting back to me.

sunshine

6 thoughts on “31 Day Writing Challenge #3 ~ Day 1. Something I’m looking forward to this year.

Leave a Reply

