Whole30 ~ Round 2

What is Whole30?  In a nutshell, it’s a new way (for me) of eating whole foods for 30 days while eliminating sugar, carbs, and dairy from your diet. It’s a book written by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig that was easily obtained off the internet and eagerly read; by myself. IT IS AN “EASY” READ WITH TONS OF GREAT RECIPES.  Fresh fruits and veggies, protein (meats, eggs), and good fats.

WHOLE30

The first Whole30 I did in February 2016 went well.  I lost 13 pounds.  I did have trouble with the last week but did not cheat or “fall off the wagon” because if you cheat, you have to start over on Day 1.  The rules are set in stone and I intended on following them.  I can tell you that I was eating good.  If I was STILL hungry after eating a meal (and that did happen on occasion) I would make my self a big bowl of sauteed veggies which usually curbed  that craving.  I’m a big coffee drinker, an unsweetened tea drinker, and have been also drinking a lot of water.  One other thing I treat myself to is La Croix, which is a  sparkling water and a healthy beverage choice, 100% Natural, Calorie-Free, Sugar Free, Sodium Free, and has No Artificial Sweeteners.  I found mine at Whole Foods and love the peach/pear flavor.

I’m eating healthier than I ever have in my entire life.  Each day is fun trying to figure out what I’m going to put together – how creative I can be.

WHOLEFOODS2

Whole30 is not so much about losing weight (although I have already gone down a pants size), it’s about learning a new relationship with food.  It explains how much inflammation is in our body ~ which causes all sorts of damage.

So, I took a week off after completing my first Whole30 and I’m ready to start Round 2 of Whole30 tonight here at work.  March 7th is my start date and I’m excited about eating healthy again.

I noticed since I stopped doing Whole30 for a few days, my face broke out and my ankles started to swell up again.  I’m so grateful to my friend that recommended this book.  She is my inspiration.  So, here I go again ~ wish me luck folks 😉

4 thoughts on “Whole30 ~ Round 2

Leave a Reply

