Whole30 ~ The Start of My 3rd week

What is Whole30?  In a nutshell, it’s a new way (for me) of eating whole foods for 30 days while eliminating sugar, carbs, and dairy from your diet. It’s a book written by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig that was easily obtained off the internet and eagerly read; by myself. Fresh fruits and veggies, protein (meats, eggs), and good fats.  I’m now on Day 18 and feel pretty good although there have definitely been some challenges.  Challenges but not meant to say that I have cheated or fallen off the wagon whatsoever.  I have stuck to the plan 100% and am really proud of myself.

wholefoods

I even went to the movie theater and nearly died when I walked in and was confronted by a wall of buttery popcorn smell that instantly made me weak in the knees.  I did not, however partake in the snacks, instead opting for black coffee which really curbed my appetite.  I slowly sipped it throughout the movie.  That was probably the hardest day I’ve had so far as my company ordered cheesy pretzels, chocolate, popcorn, and candy but I persevered.  I cannot believe that I went to the movie theater and did not have popcorn.  There’s a first time for everything.

I’ve been writing down every single thing I eat.  Breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner every day.  I’ve also been putting the positive quotes by my friends up on my bathroom mirror and a “star” on each day I succeed on this new journey.

What has helped me the most, I believe, is having all the food I CAN eat on hand at all times.  When I run out of something I am sure to replace it immediately and that way there are no excuses.

An example of my daily routine:

  1. BREAKFAST:  A banana with a bit of cashew butter & and apple sauce.
  2. LUNCH:  Chicken breast on Romaine lettuce with homemade mayo (easy to make).
  3. SNACK:  A mixture of nuts; Cashews, Almonds, and Macadamia.
  4. DINNER:  Salad, Steak, and roasted Sweet Potato.

Another example of my daily routine:

  1. BREAKFAST:  2 Eggs Over-easy with fruit
  2. LUNCH:  Tuna Salad (again, made with homemade mayo) on Romaine lettuce.
  3. SNACK:  A WHOLE eggplant – peeled, cut into cubes and sauteed in olive oil with some spices
  4. DINNER:  A big bowl of cabbage soup and a hearty mix of fruit

Another example of my daily routine:

  1. BREAKFAST:  3 Eggs Over-easy with and apple
  2. LUNCH:  Whopping serving of sauteed zucchini and eggplant, cut into slices and sauteed in ghee with lots of seasonings (spicy)
  3. SNACK:  Apple sauce and mixed nuts
  4. DINNER:  Chicken breast (sauteed in olive oil with yummy seasonings), a hearty salad and veggies for a side

I can tell you that I am eating.  If I am STILL hungry after eating a meal (and that does happen on occasion) I will make my self a big bowl of sauteed veggies which usually curbs that craving.  I’m a big coffee drinker, an unsweetened tea drinker, and have been also drinking a lot of water.  One other thing I treat myself to is La Croix, which is a  sparkling water and a healthy beverage choice, 100% Natural, Calorie-Free, Sugar Free, Sodium Free, and has No Artificial Sweeteners.  I found mine at Whole Foods and love the peach/pear flavor.

I’m eating healthier than I ever have in my entire life.  Each day is fun trying to figure out what I’m going to put together – how creative I can be.

Whole30 is not so much about losing weight (although I have already gone down a pants size), it’s about learning a new relationship with food.  The book is EXCELLENT and a very easy read with tons of great recipes.  It explains how much inflammation is in our body ~ which causes all sorts of damage.  I already noticed that when I get home from work and take off my socks, my ankles are no longer puffy.  Bonus!  So, here’s to the start of my 3rd week on Whole30 and following it through to the end.

What do you do after 30 days?  Just go back to the way you were eating before?  I guess you could if you wanted to but this whole process has made me look at food on a whole bigger scale.  Something in me has changed for the better.  I now know HOW and WHAT to eat.  There is no measuring, no counting calories – it’s just about putting good wholesome food into your body.  My goal at the end of my first 30 days on the Whole30 is to continue on and most likely do another Whole30.  I am committed to getting this body healthy.

annebella_siggie

 

2 thoughts on “Whole30 ~ The Start of My 3rd week

Leave a Reply

