Aunt Flow

Yes, that’s right.  I said it.  I’m going to talk about my period, my “Aunt Flow”, my menstrual cycle, “that time of the month”.  If you cannot handle it, run for the hills turn away.  I’ve never been technically diagnosed with PMDD because nobody is willing to talk about it.  I know it’s real and I know I have it.

????????????????????

How do I know?  Because I turn into a completely different person about a week before I get my period.  I have a short fuse.  I cry often for no apparent reason, and I have been known to bite off a head or two.  My boobs feel like big bags of broken glass, my ovaries feel like they are going to explode, my lower back aches, and I have diarrhea.  Don’t even get me started on the headaches.

I want to throat-punch stupid people, I’d like to rip off someone’s head, I get road-rage, my fuse….. is short.  Every.  Single.  Month.  Sometimes every 3 weeks.  It’s as if Aunt Flow misses me and wants to visit more often.

ovary

Good thing is.  I tried to explain all of this to my Dr. and she said, “Well, at least you wont have to put up with it for much longer at your age”.  Um, really.  Thanks.  I’m 45 and who knows WHEN I’ll start menopause.  At this point, I welcome it and never thought I’d say that but I have my period like a damn teenager every month.  Still, after all these years. I do suffer from depression and anxiety and am doing very well on my new meds.  Thing is, at that time of the month ~ those awful feelings creep in and I just don’t want to even be around anymore.  Every.  Single.  Month. Anyone else out there suffer every single month like this?  I’m getting really sick of it and I want to shout it from a rooftop!

One thought on “Aunt Flow

Leave a Reply

