I am so proud!

Line up

My 16-year-old daughter is a runner. This past weekend she ran a 10K hosted at my work and she won a medal for 1st Place in her age group. She was the only female in her age group so she wasn’t too excited but I told her, “YES, YOU ARE THE ONLY FEMALE IN YOUR AGE GROUP, THAT MEANS YOU ARE THE ONLY 16 YEAR OLD GIRL THAT EVEN TRIED THIS TODAY- THAT ALONE IS A REASON TO BE PROUD!!”

My niece Terri has always been a runner (even got a full scholarship to a GOOD college) and over the years has encouraged my daughter. Not only in words, but she and my daughter Lexi exercise together and they have participated in many 5K’s in our area over the years. She IS my daughter’s running mentor. Lexi has always been a good runner but I know it’s the encouragement from her cousin that keeps her going.

Final stretch

Terri, I just want to take this opportunity to thank you and Nick so much from the bottom of our hearts for showing Lexi the ropes. For signing her up for countless runs and always paying her way, even though I know those races are not cheap. Not to mention all the specialty running shoes. We appreciate your generosity, kindness, and time spent with Lexi so much! Thank you! Terri recently suffered an ankle injury and it has slowed her down tremendously. I’m hoping and praying it heals fast so you can enjoy your races again. You are in my thoughts and prayers for a speedy recovery ♥  With Terri being on the mend, this past weekend my daughter went at it alone which made me super proud. Proud because I think it takes a lot of courage to do this. I know Terri and Lexi have been training together and she’s use to having a running partner.

Finish Line

I guess what I’m trying to say is that my daughter has incredible self-discipline; from her being a vegetarian, watching her food intake, eating healthy, to running in her spare time on a schedule is pretty rare for a teenage girl to do and both my husband and I are amazed by her drive. So, even though she is probably SICK that I’m writing this, I’ll say it to the world, “I am so proud of my LEXI!”  She inspires me too.

Congrats to you, you work so hard and you deserve it- now you just have to allow yourself to enjoy it!

The best day of your life is the one on which you decide your life is your own.  No apologies or excuses.  No one to lean on, rely on, or blame.  The gift is yours – it is an amazing journey – and you alone are responsible for the quality of it.  This is the day your life really begins.  ~Bob Moawad

Side-note:  PHOTO CREDITS:  Credit for the “Final Stretch” photo goes to Lexi’s bff Dani & Credit for the “Finish Line” photo goes to Lexi’s bff Melinda – both girls came to cheer her on!  Who could ask for better friends?

4 thoughts on “I am so proud!

  1. Congratulations to your daughter! You have every right to be proud of her and hope your niece’s ankle get better soon!

    Thank you Pumpkin! I feel proud, but her being a 16 year old – well I don’t have to tell you but she doesn’t want me gushing about her whatsoever. So, hopefully she will see how proud I am of her and let it be. I hope my niece’s ankle is better soon too ♥ Thank you!

    1. Gush all you want, your her momma and you have the right even if she doesn’t want you to…from one proud momma to another! LOL! Love you!

      @Pumpkin Spice: Thank you Mama! XOXOXOXO ♥♥♥

  2. Wow! I am proud of her too! I love the words you said to her about being the only girl to have even tried. :). And I am so happy that she has such a wonderful cousin, supportive friends, and such a fabulous mom. She’s got a lot going on for her and she isn’t afraid to push herself. She’s a good reason to be proud. 🙂

    I think so too Teens! Thank you!

  3. That is very impressive! It takes a lot of dedication and discipline to do something like that. She should be very proud of herself!

    I know I could never do it at that age! I remember being that age and going on a “diet” and caving at the first sight of a chocolate chip cookie. It amazes me! Thanks JAM!

Leave a Reply

