Where are you From?

My friend Teeni and her friend Hannah had come up with a wonderful creative writing challenge with each other and encourage their readers to join in, calling this the “Live Poet’s Society” (*see the cool badge on my sidebar?)  This sounded like something fun to do, and a challenge also because writing doesn’t come easy to me.  Please visit their sites to join in on the fun.

Where Are You From?

George Ella Lyon wrote a poem called Where I’m From? Over the years, it has often been used as a writing assignment, because it lends itself beautifully to imitation.
The prompts in this poem have a way of drawing out memories. And by writing a personal version, you will be creating something unique, something of yourself which can be shared with future generations.

You can visit their site to play along and copy the poem template.  Here is what I came up with and I really enjoyed this challenge.  I’m looking forward to seeing what these two women come up with next.

I am from Lilacs,  Lemonade stands, Forenza sweaters, bright neon sweatshirts, and a move to Johnson County, Kansas.

I am from the big green house at 345 S. Stewart Street, big enough to house 16,  loud, active, organized, I hear laughter.

I am from the peonies, Fish Lake Beach, the Weeping Willow,  and an admired singular curl at the nape of my neck.

I am from the Christmas, Proud, Joan Mary, Robert James, and Jensen.

I am from perfectionism and affection.

From the sound of thunder is angels bowing in heaven and if you cross your eyes they’ll stay that way.

I am from The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit.  I am from turn the other cheek and “Oh shaaaaad appppp!”

I’m from Geneva, Illinois, Germany, Spaghetti and garden grown veggies.

From Tie a Yellow Ribbon ‘Round the Old Oak Tree and the beautiful Holly Sisters traveling and singing with a live band.

I am from blood, sweat, and tears.  I am from all the love my mother gave and all the hard work my father did.  I am from my own album with a story to tell, I’m #11, second to the youngest with an athletic ability and  dimples when I smile.

One thought on “Where are you From?

  1. This is amazing! It made me think of things from my own past that I couldn’t think of when I did this challenge! Each time I read one of these I think of how beautiful it came together, they are all beautiful poetry just like the people who wrote them. So glad you joined in on this, I really enjoyed reading it and learning a little more about you! <3

    @Teeni, this was fun, thanks for letting me have a crack at it ;)

Leave a Reply

